ENERGY STAR Appliance Rebate Programs Roll Out in 10 States

ENERGY STAR Appliance Rebate Programs Roll Out in 10 States
February 12, 2010 Scott Case

Ten states have now rolled out their ENERGY STAR appliance rebate programs, as part of the federal stimulus bill (American Recovery and Reinvestment Act). EnergySavvy’s energy rebate and tax credit directory is continually being updated to include not just the state ENERGY STAR rebate programs, but also local utility and city rebate programs that can sometimes be used alongside the state appliance rebate programs.

Every state will eventually have their own high-efficiency appliance rebate program, and we’ll add them to our directory as they start. But for now, here’s a summary of what’s out there so far and what they cover:

  1. Connecticut: Clothes washers, refrigerators, freezers, and air conditioners.
  2. Georgia: Freezers, refrigerators, washers, water heaters, furnaces and dishwashers.
  3. Indiana: Furnaces, boilers and geothermal heat pumps.
  4. Illinois: Efficient heating and cooling systems, and hot water heaters. (Expired!)
  5. Maine: Air conditioners, clothes washers, refrigerators and dehumidifiers.
  6. Michigan: Furnaces, clothes washers, dishwashers, refrigerators, and water heaters.
  7. New Jersey: Clothes washers, dehumidifiers and room air conditioners.
  8. Oregon: Furnaces and heat pumps for low-income households.
  9. Wisconsin: Heating systems, refrigerators, freezers, central air conditioning and solar hot water.
  10. Vermont (Efficiency Vermont): Air conditioners, dehumidifiers, refrigerators, freezers, clothes washers and furnaces. Vermont Gas: Tankless water heaters, hot water boilers and furnaces.

If you’ve got questions on the program specifics, we’ve got links to the official state program pages in our energy rebate directory.  Or if you can’t find the answer, ask us!